Skip to content. | Skip to navigation


Personal tools

This is SunRain Plone Theme
You are here: Home / Government / Mayor & Council / Council Members

Council Members

About the City Council

The mission of the city council is to provide policy direction to municipal staff for the implementation of municipal services to the citizens of St. John by adopting ordinances, resolutions, and policies. The city council also appoints members to citizen advisory boards and commissions. The five-member council and mayor are elected at large to four-year staggered terms.

Council President-Marshal Sanders

Term Expires January 2024 
109 Grandview St. John, KS 67576
(620) 617-4100

Council Member Marshal Sanders is a St. John High graduate. He has lived in this community his entire life. 

Marshal is the owner / operator of S & S Tire of St. John. He is married to Mandy Sanders and they have four kids that attend the St. John-Hudson school district that are very active in the sports program. 

Marshal's goal is to better the community as a whole and keep making this a place that people want to live, work and raise a family. 


Council Member-Ryan Christie

Term Expires January 2024
829 N Pearl St. John, KS 67576
(620) 388-1482

Ryan is a life-long resident of St. John and rural Stafford County. He is a graduate of the St. John-Hudson school district and Northwest Technical College in Goodland. Ryan has been employed by Davis Electrical as an Electrician/HVAC Technician for the last 11 years.

Ryan and his wife Jill have 3 children and are actively involved in both; the school and community. In his spare time, he enjoys attending his children’s sporting events, hunting and farming. Ryan is also actively involved in the IOOF Lodge, where he also serves as a Trustee member.

Ryan strives to maintain and improve the St. John we all know and take pride in. He feels our community is a great place to live, work and raise a family. A goal of his is to improve the lines of communication between the governing body and the general public. Ryan encourages community members to speak up, stay positive and get involved. He gladly welcomes community input and wants to hear from you.


Council Member-Kyle Bunker

Term Expires January 2024
425 N Broadway, St. John, KS 67576

(620) 546-6300

Kyle is a life-long resident of Stafford County. He is a graduate of Macksville High School and Kansas State University. Kyle has been involved in the St. John community since he graduated college and has been employed by SJN Bank of Kansas for the past five years.

Kyle and his wife Ava are both active in the community and school. Ava is a preschool teacher at USD 350.

Kyle takes pride in being part of the St. John community and wants it to continue to be a place for all ages to reside. He wants anyone with questions or concerns to reach out at their convenience.

Council Member - Esai Macias

Term Expires January 2022
302 S Exchange, St. John, KS 67576
(620) 352-0768

Esai Macias has been a lifelong member of the St. John community and is a graduate of St. John High School, class of 2014. He established Macias Landscaping and Lawn care in 2012 at age 16. After high school Esai furthered his education by attending Hutchinson Community College. He enrolled in the building trades program and soon after started another business under the name Macias Construction. He proudly serves on the St. John and Stafford County  volunteer fire department  and is an active member of the IOOF lodge.
Esai's goal as a representative for St. John is to do his best everyday to help make St. John a better place tomorrow, then it is today. He believes that our local economy is an important factor to our future and growth. He wants St. John to be a place where future generations are proud to call home. Esai encourages those with ideas and concerns to reach out to him.

Council Member - Ross Fisher

 Term Expires January 2022